New Hanseatic States wants to shake up EU

You may well ask what are the Hanseatic States in the EU!

Originally Hanseatic meant a medieval trading alliance in northern Europe on the southern shores of the Baltic that existed between the 13th and 17th centuries.

Now it has a modern meaning and it a storing collection of 10 countries whose total population is around the size of France and the UK, and bigger than Italy and France – only Germany has a larger population! 

They represent the views of the governments of the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Sweden and Slovakia 

The Hanseatic States have had enough of the Merkel & Macron who “decide” EU policy, which means, most of the time, policies that happen to suit them best! They are thew ones who always want to sit at the top of the table and get the best low hanging fruits.

Naturally, as can be expected the comments from EU’s big boys are as follows:

The French Economy Minister, Mr Le Maire, said the following:

  1. Paris opposed “closed clubs” that risked dividing the EU! 
  2. They compromised the EU’s ability to rival other global powers.
  3. The Franco-German alliance is not a club. It is the core of the European Union – peace between France and Germany.

Spain’s Finance Minister said she would not respond to the latest joint Hanseatic paper, describing it as “small countries with small weight”.

Only Germany’s Finance Minister, Mr. Olof Scholz, said that he welcomed these countries reaching common positions as part of the process of the EU growing closer together.

This is a good start to real democracy making a difference within the EU!

A number of joint papers have been issued by the Hanseatic States and included subjects related to EuroZone financial crisis management, banking resolution and fiscal responsibility and supervision.


Site Footer